Scroll Top

The Vincent du Vigneaud Award

The Vincent du Vigneaud Awards recognize outstanding achievement in peptide research at mid-career. The du Vigneaud Awards are sponsored by Bachem, and are awarded to two deserving recipients at the biennial American Peptide Symposia.

The Vincent du Vigneaud Award Recipients
2023 Marcey Waters University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
2023 Helma Wennemers ETH Zurich
2021 Alanna Schepartz University of California, Berkeley
2021 Joel Schneider Center for Cancer Research, National Cancer Institute
2019 Annette Beck-Sickinger Leipzig University
2019 Hiroaki Suga The University of Tokyo
2017 Ronald Raines University of Wisconsin at Madison
2017 Wilfred van der Donk University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
2015 Jean Chmielewski Purdue University
2015 David Craik University of Queensland
2013 Kit Sang Lam University of California, Davis School of Medicine
2013 Michael Chorev Harvard Medical Scool
2011 Morten Meldal Carlsberg Laboratories, Copenhagen
2011 Fernando Albericio University of Barcelona
2010 Reza Ghadiri Scripps Research
2010 Philip Dawson Scripps Research
2008 Jeffery W. Kelly Scripps Research
2008 Thomas W. Muir Rockefeller University
2006 Samuel H. Gellman University of Wisconsin
2006 Barbara Imperiali Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2004 Stephen B. H. Kent University of Chicago
2004 Dieter Seebach Swiss Federal Institute of Technology at Zurich
2002 Robert Hodges University of Colorado, School of Medicine
2002 Horst Kessler Technical University of München
2000 Charles M. Deber University of Toronto
2000 Richard A. Houghten Torrey Pines Institute for Molecular Studies
1998 Peter W. Schiller Clinical Research Institute of Montreal
1998 James A. Wells Genentech, Inc.
1996 Arthur M. Felix Hoffmann-La Roche, Inc.
1996 Richard G. Hiskey University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
1994 Garland R. Marshall Washington University Medical School at St. Louis
1994 George Barany University of Minnesota at Minneapolis
1992 Isabella Lugoski Karle Naval Research Laboratory
1992 Wylie W. Vale The Salk Institute for Biological Studies
1990 Daniel H. Rich University of Wisconsin at Madison
1990 Jean E. Rivier The Salk Institute for Biological Studies
1988 William F. DeGrado DuPont Central Research
1988 Tomi K. Sawyer The Upjohn Company
1986 James P. Tam The Rockefeller University
1986 Michael Rosenblatt Massachusetts General Hospital
1986 Roger M. Freidinger Merck, Sharp & Dohme
1984 Richard E. Mains The Johns Hopkins University
1984 Lila M. Gierash University of Delaware
1984 Betty Sue Eipper The Johns Hopkins University

Vincent du Vigneaud

Vincent du Vigneaud

Vincent du Vigneaud, May 18, 1901 – December 11, 1978, was an American biochemist. He won the 1955 Nobel Prize in Chemistry “for his work on biochemically important sulphur compounds, especially for the first synthesis of a polypeptide hormone,” a reference to his work on the cyclic peptide oxytocin.

Award Sponsor

Bachem Logo

Bachem is a leading, innovation-driven company specializing in the development and manufacture of peptides and oligonucleotides. With 50 years of experience and expertise Bachem provides products for research, clinical development and commercial application to pharmaceutical and biotechnology companies worldwide and offers a comprehensive range of services. Bachem operates internationally with headquarters in Switzerland and locations in Europe, the US and Asia. The company is listed on the SIX Swiss Exchange. For further information, see