Scroll Top

The ACS Ralph F. Hirschmann Award in Peptide Chemistry

The ACS Ralph F. Hirschmann Award Recipients

2022 Samuel Stupp Northwestern University
2020 Alanna Schepartz University of California, Berkeley
2018 Lila M. Gierasch University of Massachusetts at Amherst
2016 Ronald T. Raines University of Wisconsin at Madison
2014 Samuel Danishefsky Columbia University
2013 Dale L. Boger Scripps Research
2012 Jeffery W. Kelly Scripps Research
2011 David J. Craik The University of Queensland
2010 Stephen J. Benkovic The Pennsylvania State University
2009 Morten P. Meldal University of Copenhagen
2008 William F. DeGrado University of Pennsylvania
2007 Samuel H. Gellman University of Wisconsin at Madison
2006 George Barany University of Minnesota at Minneapolis
2005 James P. Tam Scripps Research Institute
2004 Richard A. Houghten Torrey Pines Institute for Molecular Studies
2003 Roger M. Hirschmann Merck Research Laboratories
2002 Victor J. Hruby University of Arizona
2001 Daniel F. Veber SmithKline Beecham Pharmaceuticals
2000 Daniel S. Kemp Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1999 Harold A. Scheraga Cornell University
1998 Isabella Karle Naval Research Laboratory
1997 Murray Goodman University of California at San Diego
1996 Steven G. Clarke University of California at Los Angeles
1995 Shumpei Sakakibara Peptide Institute, Inc.
1994 Stephen B. H. Kent Scripps Research Institute
1993 Daniel H. Ricoh University of Wisconsin at Madison
1992 Louis A. Carpino University of Massachusetts at Amherst
1991 Elkan R. Blout Harvard Medical School
1990 Bruce Merrifield The Rockefeller University

Award Sponsor

Merck Logo

Merck Research Laboratories established the award in 1988. In 2014, this award will be presented biennially in even-numbered years.

ACS Logo

The purpose of this award is to recognize and encourage outstanding achievements in the chemistry, biochemistry, and biophysics of peptides.

The nominee must have made outstanding contributions in the chemistry, biochemistry, or biophysics of peptides. The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.