Scroll Top

The R. Bruce Merrifield Award

From 1977 to 1995, this was The Alan E. Pierce Award, sponsored by the Pierce Chemical Company. The Merrifield Award was established in 1997 by an endowment from Rao Makineni. The Merrifield Award, presented at the biennial symposia, recognizes the lifetime achievement of a peptide scientist, whose work exemplifies the highest level of scientific creativity.

The R. Bruce Merrifield Award Recipients

2023 Sam Gellman University of Wisconsin - Madison
2021 Padmanabhan Balaram Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India
2019 Lila Gierasch University of Massachusetts at Amherst
2017 Robert Hodges University of Colorado at Denver
2017 Charles Deber University of Toronto, Hospital for Sick Children
2015 Horst Kessler TU München Institute for Advanced Study
2013 James P. Tam Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
2011 Richard DiMarchi Indiana University
2009 Stephen B.H. Kent University of Chicago
2007 Isabella Karle Naval Research Laboratory
2005 William F. DeGrado University of Pennsylvania
2005 Richard A. Houghten Torrey Pines Institute for Molecular Studies
2001 Garland R. Marshall Washington University Medical School, St. Louis
1999 Daniel H. Rich University of Wisconsin, Madison
1997 Shumpei Sakakibara Peptide Institute, Inc.
1995 John M. Stewart University of Colorado at Denver
1993 Victor J. Hruby University of Arizona
1991 Daniel F. Veber Merck, Sharp & Dohme
1989 Murray Goodman University of California at San Diego
1987 Cho Hao Li University of California at San Francisco
1985 Robert Schwyzer Swiss Federal Institute of Technology
1983 Ralph F. Hirschmann Merck, Sharp & Dohme
1981 Klaus Hofmann University of Pittsburgh - School of Medicine
1979 Bruce Merrifield The Rockefeller University
1977 Miklos Bodanszky Case Western Reserve University

R. Bruce Merrifield

R. Bruce Merrifield
Robert Bruce Merrifield, July 15, 1921 — May 14, 2006, was an American biochemist who won the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1984 for the invention of solid phase peptide synthesis. His wife Elizabeth, Libby, a biologist by training, joined the Merrifield laboratory at Rockefeller University where she worked for over 23 years.