Scroll Top

Vincent du Vigneaud Award

The Vincent du Vigneaud Awards recognize outstanding achievement in peptide research at mid-career. The du Vigneaud Awards are sponsored by Bachem, and are awarded to two deserving recipients at the biennial American Peptide Symposia.

The Vincent du Vigneaud Award Recipients

2023, Marcey Waters, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

2023, Helma Wennemers, ETH Zurich

2021, Joel Schneider, Center for Cancer Research, National Cancer Institute

2021, Alanna Schepartz, University of California, Berkeley

2019, Hiroaki Suga, The University of Tokyo

2019, Annette Beck-Sickinger, Leipzig University

2017, Ronald Raines, University of Wisconsin at Madison

2017, Wilfred van der Donk, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

2015, David Craik, University of Queensland

2015, Jean Chmielewski, Purdue University

2013, Michael Chorev, Harvard Medical Scool

2013, Kit Sang Lam, University of California, Davis School of Medicine

2011, Fernando Albericio, University of Barcelona

2011, Morten Meldal, Carlsberg Laboratories, Copenhagen

2010, Reza Ghadiri, Scripps Research

2010, Philip Dawson, Scripps Research

2008, Thomas W. Muir, Rockefeller University

2008, Jeffery W. Kelly, Scripps Research

2006, Samuel H. Gellman, University of Wisconsin

2006, Barbara Imperiali, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

2004, Dieter Seebach, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology at Zurich

2004, Stephen B. H. Kent, University of Chicago

2002, Robert Hodges, University of Colorado, School of Medicine

2002, Horst Kessler, Technical University of München

2000, Charles M. Deber, University of Toronto

2000, Richard A. Houghten, Torrey Pines Institute for Molecular Studies

1998, Peter W. Schiller, Clinical Research Institute of Montreal

1998, James A. Wells, Genentech, Inc.

1996, Richard G. Hiskey, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

1996, Arthur M. Felix, Hoffmann-La Roche, Inc.

1994, Garland R. Marshall, Washington University Medical School at St. Louis

1994, George Barany, University of Minnesota at Minneapolis

1992, Wylie W. Vale, The Salk Institute for Biological Studies

1992, Isabella Lugoski Karle, Naval Research Laboratory

1990, Daniel H. Rich, University of Wisconsin at Madison

1990, Jean E. Rivier, The Salk Institute for Biological Studies

1988, Tomi K. Sawyer, The Upjohn Company

1988, William F. DeGrado, DuPont Central Research

1986, Roger M. Freidinger, Merck, Sharp & Dohme

1986, Michael Rosenblatt, Massachusetts General Hospital

1986, James P. Tam, The Rockefeller University

1984, Betty Sue Eipper, The Johns Hopkins University

1984, Lila M. Gierash, University of Delaware

1984, Richard E. Mains, The Johns Hopkins University

Vincent du Vigneaud

Vincent du Vigneaud, May 18, 1901 – December 11, 1978, was an American biochemist. He won the 1955 Nobel Prize in Chemistry “for his work on biochemically important sulphur compounds, especially for the first synthesis of a polypeptide hormone,” a reference to his work on the cyclic peptide oxytocin.

Award Sponsor

Bachem is a leading, innovation-driven company specializing in the development and manufacture of peptides and oligonucleotides. With 50 years of experience and expertise Bachem provides products for research, clinical development and commercial application to pharmaceutical and biotechnology companies worldwide and offers a comprehensive range of services. Bachem operates internationally with headquarters in Switzerland and locations in Europe, the US and Asia. The company is listed on the SIX Swiss Exchange.

Skip to toolbar