Scroll Top

Merrifield Award

From 1977 to 1995, this was The Alan E. Pierce Award, sponsored by the Pierce Chemical Company. The Merrifield Award was established in 1997 by an endowment from Rao Makineni. The Merrifield Award, presented at the biennial symposia, recognizes the lifetime achievement of a peptide scientist, whose work exemplifies the highest level of scientific creativity.

Read and View Media about Bruce Merrifield

merrifield montage

The R. Bruce Merrifield Award Recipients

2023, Sam Gellman, University of Wisconsin - Madison

2021, Padmanabhan Balaram, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India

2019, Lila Gierasch, University of Massachusetts at Amherst

2017, Robert Hodges, University of Colorado at Denver

2017, Charles Deber, University of Toronto, Hospital for Sick Children

2015, Horst Kessler, TU München Institute for Advanced Study

2013, James P. Tam, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

2011, Richard DiMarchi, Indiana University

2009, Stephen B.H. Kent, University of Chicago

2007, Isabella Karle, Naval Research Laboratory

2005, Richard A. Houghten, Torrey Pines Institute for Molecular Studies

2001, Garland R. Marshall, Washington University Medical School, St. Louis

1999, Daniel H. Rich, University of Wisconsin, Madison

1997, Shumpei Sakakibara, Peptide Institute, Inc.

1995, John M. Stewart, University of Colorado at Denver

1993, Victor J. Hruby, University of Arizona

1991, Daniel F. Veber, Merck, Sharp & Dohme

1989, Murray Goodman, University of California at San Diego

1988, William F. DeGrado, DuPont Central Research

1987, Cho Hao Li, University of California at San Francisco

1985, Robert Schwyzer, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology

1983, Ralph F. Hirschmann, Merck, Sharp & Dohme

1981, Klaus Hofmann, University of Pittsburgh - School of Medicine

1979, Bruce Merrifield, The Rockefeller University

1977, Miklos Bodanszky, Case Western Reserve University

Bruce and Libby Merrifield

Robert Bruce Merrifield, July 15, 1921 — May 14, 2006, was an American biochemist who won the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1984 for the invention of solid phase peptide synthesis. His wife Elizabeth, Libby, a biologist by training, joined the Merrifield laboratory at Rockefeller University where she worked for over 23 years.

Skip to toolbar